Dragon kimono pictures

01Feb12

I mentioned a couple of weeks ago I’d been making a kimono for my mother. It is now with her, so I can post some pictures of the finished object!

Dragon kimono close up

Dragon kimono front full length

Unfortunately you can’t really see the sleeves when it’s hanging on the dressform, so here’s a better shot. The cuffs were an improvisation because I got the length of the sleeves wrong when I was working out the layout, but I think they work well.

Dragon kimono sleeve

It’s not lined. The brocade is a lovely gold colour inside.

Dragon kimono showing inside

And here’s a completely gratuitous shot of the seam and hem finish. I’m normally the queen of not caring what the inside of a garment looks like (after all, who’s going to see?), but this fabric frayed so much it absolutely required binding the edges. And I will admit it looks nice, but I doubt I’ll be doing this on any well-behaved fabric.

Hong kong seam finish and hem with binding



11 Responses to “Dragon kimono pictures”

  1. Oh how beautiful. I bet your mum is delighted! Such a lot of effort to bind seams but soooo worth it. Gorgeous inside and out!

  2. It looks positively luxurious! Lucky mum!

  3. I bet she loves it. It looks really luxurious.

  4. Looks great! I’m with you on the seam finishes, most of the time my seams hold up just fine for years (you know, except the fraying fabrics).

  5. 5 tabathatweedie

    Ooh it’s lovely. I bet she will be thrilled!

  6. Catherine, the kimono really is beautiful, inside and out!

    Wonderful!

  7. It’s really gorgeous, inside and out. I love the idea of lounging about in a glamourous kimono!

  8. It’s absolutely beautiful! I love the interior finishing.

  9. Stunning both the fabric and your design details! Both the outside and the inside are sheer perfection; I love that you went to the effort to finish off beautifully. I’ll bet your mother looks tres glamorous!

  10. 10 jacquie

    Gorgeous! Super glamourous and I bet your mum just loves it.

  11. This looks fab – does she wear it to lounge? I sure hope so.

    Like the cuffs and the seam & hem finishes are very fine. Must try that one day… PS I keep trying to see which way the dragons are going :o)



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 383 other followers

