Defeating the button nemesis

11Sep11

Buttons are my nemesis. Give me a dress with a zip any day. I’ve never managed to get my sewing machine to make good buttonholes, and I can’t sew a button on in such a way that it stays put for more than a few days. So I clearly wasn’t going to make Vogue 1220, the recent Donna Karan shirtdress pattern. And then I saw Allison’s version. And all the positive reviews on Pattern Review, and I weakened. The buttons on the style are concealed, so I figured it wouldn’t matter if I made a mess of the buttonholes.

This dress has a separate placket that you make the buttonholes in and then sew on. I made a second placket, and started practicing making buttonholes. It took me about six goes just to get the positioning right. But it was worth it in the end – the final placket is actually fit to be seen! No one will see it, of course, but I’ll know it’s there.

I don’t know if the buttons are going to stay on though. I sewed them on while coming home on the bus on Friday because I was determined to get the dress finished for the weekend so they may be even worse than usual.



5 Responses to “Defeating the button nemesis”

  1. As usual, your projects give me courage- I too am a zipper gal, but that dress is worth bearing up to. Lovely!

  2. I love the pattern too, but as I don’t have an office to go to or anywhere else to where a dress like that I probably won’t be making it for awhile. For the buttons can’t you just go back over them a couple times to get them to stay better?

  3. I am not a fan of buttons either but 1220 is such a great pattern it is worth it! I sew my buttons on by machine these days which seems to work well – no good if you want to do it on the bus though!

  4. I’m not keen on button holes either. This dress does lend itself to press studs under the placade. I prefer doing bound button holes than trying to position them on my machine.

  5. 5 redsilvia

    Your buttonholes look good! I think you may have underestimated your skills. I’m still trying to get over you bringing your project on the bus and sewing on buttons! Dang!



Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 384 other followers

